Wednesday, July 24, 2024


India clinches 8th Asia Cup title with dominant victory over Sri Lanka

September 18, 2023 9:28 AM IST

India | Asia Cup | Sri Lanka | Mohammed Siraj | Shubman Gill

In a one-sided final that left cricket fans in awe, India secured their 8th Asia Cup title by defeating Sri Lanka with absolute authority. The match, held at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on September 17, witnessed a historic performance from the Indian cricket team.

India’s fast-bowling sensation, Mohammed Siraj, was the star of the day, as he wreaked havoc on the Sri Lankan top-order with an impressive six-wicket haul. After winning the toss and opting to bat first, Sri Lanka found themselves struggling and were eventually bowled out for a mere 50 runs, marking the lowest ODI team total against India.

Chasing this meager target, India’s opening duo of Shubman Gill and Ishan Kishan displayed flawless batting, forming a solid fifty-run partnership. Their performance ensured that India lifted the Asia Cup trophy for the eighth time in their cricketing history.

The victory was so commanding that India reached their target in just 6.1 overs, with a remarkable 263 balls to spare. This margin of victory set a new record for India, surpassing their previous best against Kenya in 2001, when they chased down a target of 91 with 231 balls to spare.

The jubilant scenes were not confined to the cricket field alone. Sand artist Sudarsan Pattnaik celebrated India’s triumph by crafting a magnificent sand sculpture at a beach in Puri on September 17. This gesture resonated with cricket enthusiasts and fans worldwide who applauded Team India’s remarkable performance and acknowledged that they had indeed made history.

The Asia Cup win in 2023 adds another chapter to India’s cricketing legacy and showcases the prowess of the team on the international stage. The Indian cricket fraternity and fans around the globe are basking in the glory of this impressive victory, and the future looks promising for Indian cricket.

Copyright © 2024 DD India. All rights reserved

Visitors: 1555340

Last updated on: 24th July 2024