Wednesday, April 17, 2024

DD International

India crush Australia by 99 runs (DLS), take 2-0 unassailable lead

September 25, 2023 12:08 PM IST

kl rahul | jadeja | shubhman gill | ashwin | rohit | kohli | india vs australia | ind vs aus 2nd odi

India outplayed Australia with both bat and ball to clinch the three-match ODI series 2- 0 after winning the second match by 99 runs through The Duckworth-Lewis-Stern (DLS) method, at the Holkar Cricket Stadium on Sunday.

Chasing their highest ever total against India, Australia faced early setbacks, losing two key wickets in the second over itself. Prasidh Krishna dismissed both Matthew Short and Steve Smith consecutively, with Smith failing to make an impact and departing for a golden duck.

Despite these early setbacks, Australia adopted an aggressive approach, reaching 56/2 in the ninth over before rain interrupted the play for an hour. After the resumption, Australia had a revised target of 317 runs in 33 overs.

David Warner and Marnus Labuschagne tried to maintain the required run rate, but R Ashwin removed Labuschagne for 27 runs off 31 balls in the 12.5th over. Warner reached his fifty in the 14th over but couldn’t sustain his innings as he fell to Ashwin’s spin in the 14.1 over, scoring 53 off 39 balls. In the same over, Ashwin dismissed Josh Inglis as well.

Australia struggled against India’s spin attack, with Jadeja claiming Alex Carey’s wicket in the 18.2 over, and Cameron Green getting run-out in the 20th over. Jadeja got his second wicket by dismissing Adam Zampa in the 20.4 over.

Sean Abbott tried to counter-attack with boundaries in almost every over, but his innings wasn’t enough, and Australia were bowled out in 28.2 overs.

India’s batting was exceptional, featuring centuries by Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, and a late fireworks show by Suryakumar Yadav during the second ODI of the series held in Mohali. India posted a formidable total of 399/5 in their 50 overs, which was their highest score against Australia in a 50-over match.

India’s innings began with the loss of Ruturaj Gaikwad’s wicket for just 8 runs, caught behind by Alex Carey off Josh Hazlewood. However, opener Shubman Gill and Shreyas Iyer steadied the ship, with Iyer finding gaps effortlessly and helping India reach the 50-run mark in just 7.3 overs. They reached 100 runs in 12.5 overs, and their partnership reached 150 runs in 107 balls.

Gill reached his half-century in 37 balls, while Iyer reached his fifty in 41 balls, with both batsmen displaying a tremendous batting partnership. Iyer eventually reached his third ODI century in 86 balls.

The partnership was finally broken when Sean Abbott dismissed Iyer for 105 runs in 90 balls. Gill was caught behind by Alex Carey for 104 runs off 97 balls, and India reached the 250-run mark in 35.1 overs.

Captain KL Rahul and Ishan Kishan added valuable runs, taking India to the 300-run mark in 40.1 overs. KL Rahul also reached his half-century in 35 balls. However, Kishan was dismissed for 31 off 18 balls by Adam Zampa in the 40.2 over.

Suryakumar Yadav then took the stage, hitting four successive sixes in the 44th over and propelling India to the 350-run mark in 45.3 overs. Suryakumar’s innings ended with a fiery 72 not out in 37 balls, including six fours and six sixes, while Ravindra Jadeja contributed with an unbeaten 13 off 9 balls.

Among the Australian bowlers, Cameron Green stood out with two wickets but conceded 103 runs. Josh Hazlewood, Adam Zampa, and Sean Abbott also picked up a wicket each.

India will now play Australia in the dead rubber at Rajkot. Skipper Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli are set to be back at the top.

Copyright © 2024 DD India. All rights reserved

Visitors: 755720

Last updated on: 17th April 2024