Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Top Stories

Prominent leaders cast their votes in sixth phase of 2024 general elections

May 25, 2024 10:38 AM IST

General Elections 2024 | Lok Sabha Election

Voting is currently taking place for the sixth phase of the 2024 general elections. President Draupadi Murmu, Union Minister Hardeep Puri, Foreign Minister S. Jaishankar, MP Gautam Gambhir, and BJP candidate from the New Delhi seat Bansuri Swaraj were among the prominent figures who voted early this morning. They have all encouraged voters to participate enthusiastically in what they called the festival of democracy.

Senior BJP leader & Prime Minister Narendra Modi also urged voters in the sixth phase to turn out in large numbers. He posted on X this morning, saying, “I request all the voters of the sixth phase of Lok Sabha elections to come forward to vote in maximum numbers. Every vote counts and your vote is equally important! Only then does democracy flourish and remain vibrant. It is visible when there is active participation of the public in the election process. I have a special request to the mothers, sisters, and daughters as well as the young voters to exercise their franchise.”

Voting began at 7 am in 58 parliamentary constituencies across 8 states and union territories. In this phase, voters are casting their ballots in 8 seats in Bihar, 10 in Haryana, 4 in Jharkhand, 8 in West Bengal, 1 in Jammu and Kashmir, 6 in Odisha, 14 in Uttar Pradesh, and all 7 seats in Delhi.

The credibility of 889 candidates is at stake in this phase, including Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, Mehbooba Mufti, Miyan Altaf, Manohar Lal Khattar, Rao Inderjeet Singh, Krishnapal Gurjar, Deepender Singh Hooda, Manoj Tiwari, Ramvir Singh Bidhuri, Kanhaiya Kumar, and Bansuri Swaraj.

Copyright © 2024 DD India. All rights reserved

Visitors: 1253994

Last updated on: 19th June 2024