Wednesday, July 24, 2024

What's New

Indian cricket fraternity celebrates 41st anniversary of 1983 World Cup triumph

June 25, 2024 2:24 PM IST

As India celebrates the 41st anniversary of its first World Cup victory, Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Secretary Jay Shah and former cricketer Kirti Azad took to social media to thank the 1983 World Cup legends for inspiring countless individuals to represent the nation.

Today marks 41 years since India’s historic World Cup win under the leadership of the legendary all-rounder Kapil Dev.

Jay Shah took to his official X account and said that it was a defining moment for Indian cricket that still inspires the country. “Reflecting on 41 years since India’s historic first World Cup victory under @therealkapildev’s leadership in 1983. A defining moment for Indian cricket that continues to inspire us all,” Shah wrote on X.

“#25thJune in #1983 India #WorldChampion #Cricket #41stAnniversary @KirtiAzaad @therealkapildev @RaviShastriOfc,” Kirti Azad wrote on X.

The BCCI said that it was a landmark moment for Indian cricket. “#OnThisDay in 1983! A historic victory & a landmark moment for Indian cricket #TeamIndia led by @therealkapildev, were crowned champions for the very first time as they clinched the World Cup title,” BCCI wrote on X.

In 1983, the World Cup final was played between India and West Indies, and the latter won the toss and opted to bowl first. The Kapil Dev-led side managed to score just 183 runs as Andy Roberts took three wickets while Malcolm Marshall, Michael Holding, and Larry Gomes picked up two wickets each. Defending 183, India did a good job of keeping a check on the Windies’ run flow, reducing the side to 57/3.

Soon after, the team from the Caribbean was reduced to 76/6, and India was the favorite from there on to win the title. Mohinder Amarnath took the final wicket of Michael Holding to give India their first-ever World Cup title win. In the finals, West Indies was bowled out for 140, and as a result, India won the match by 43 runs.

Kapil Dev lifting the trophy on the balcony of Lord’s Cricket Ground still remains an image to savor for all Indian fans. In the finals, Mohinder Amarnath was chosen as the Man of the Match as he scored 26 runs with the bat and also picked up three wickets with the ball. India has been a regular participant in the World Cup from its beginning to the latest edition. The first edition was held in 1975, and from there on, it has taken place a span of every four years.

Copyright © 2024 DD India. All rights reserved

Visitors: 1555150

Last updated on: 24th July 2024