Sunday, July 21, 2024

Top Stories

Pema Khandu sworn in as Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh for 3rd straight term

June 13, 2024 12:19 PM IST

Pema Khandu | Arunachal Pradesh | Chowna Mein

Pema Khandu, the leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Arunachal Pradesh, was sworn in as the chief minister of the state for the third consecutive term on Thursday.

Chowna Mein took oath as the Deputy Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh on Thursday for his second consecutive term.

Biyuram Wahge, Nyato Dukam, Gabriel Denwang Wangsu, Pasang Dorjee Sona, Mama Natung, Dasanglu Pul, and Kento Jini are among 11 cabinet members who took the oath today.

The swearing-in ceremony, held at the DK State Convention Centre in Itanagar, was attended by Union Ministers Amit Shah, J.P. Nadda, Kiren Rijiju, and Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma.

Khandu, 44, became the chief minister for the first time in 2016. He was re-elected as the leader of the BJP Legislature Party in Arunachal Pradesh on Wednesday, paving the way for him to be sworn in as the chief minister for the third straight term. Arunachal Pradesh Governor Lieutenant General KT Parnaik (retired) invited Khandu to form the government.

The BJP won 46 seats in the 60-member Arunachal Pradesh assembly in the elections that were held simultaneously with the Lok Sabha election.


Copyright © 2024 DD India. All rights reserved

Visitors: 1515952

Last updated on: 20th July 2024