Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Top Stories

Vote counting for Arunachal Pradesh Assembly elections to begin at 6 am on June 2

June 1, 2024 9:16 AM IST

Assembly Elections | Lok sabha elections | Arunachal Pradesh

The counting of votes for the Arunachal Pradesh Assembly elections is set to begin at 6 AM on June 2.

Assembly and Lok Sabha elections were held simultaneously in Arunachal Pradesh on April 19.

Chief Electoral Officer Pawan Kumar Sain stated that the vote counting for the assembly elections would start at 6 AM on June 2, while the counting for the Lok Sabha polls would begin at 8 AM on June 4.

Counting of votes for 50 assembly seats out of a total of 60, will be held in 24 centres in the state on June 2 while that for Lok Sabha seats would be conducted in 25 centres on June 4, Joint Chief Electoral Officer Liken Koyu said.

The ruling BJP has already won 10 seats in the 60-member assembly unopposed.

A total of 133 candidates contested the assembly seats, while 14 candidates vied for the two Lok Sabha seats.

In the Arunachal West Parliamentary seat, eight candidates including Union Earth Sciences Minister Kiren Rijiju and state Congress president Nabam Tuki contested the elections.

Sitting BJP MP Tapir Gao and state Congress vice-president Bosiram Siram are among the six candidates who contested from Arunachal East Lok Sabha seat.

In the 2019 elections, the BJP won both Lok Sabha seats. In the assembly, the party secured 41 seats, while JD (U) won seven, NPP five, Congress four, PPA one, and Independent candidates took two seats.

Copyright © 2024 DD India. All rights reserved

Visitors: 1253923

Last updated on: 19th June 2024