Friday, December 01, 2023


DD India

October 31, 2023 5:15 PM IST

54th IFFI announces International Jury headed by Shekhar Kapur

The 54th edition of the International Film Festival of India will be held in the beautiful state of Goa from November 20-28, 2023. This festival is the largest celebration of global cinema in South Asia, attracting thousands of cinema enthusiasts and top film industry talents from around the world. Recently, the festival announced the members of its international jury panel, which will be chaired by renowned filmmaker Shekhar Kapur. Kapur is famous for his works such as ‘Bandit Queen’, ‘Mr. India’, and ‘Masoom’.

The international jury members include Jose Luis Alcaine, who is known for his collaborations with Pedro Almodovar, Jerome Paillard, Catherine Dussart, and Helen Leake.

Shekhar Kapur (Filmmaker) – Chairman, Jury – Shekhar Kapur is an acclaimed filmmaker, actor, narrator and producer. He is best known for his films such as Masoom (1983), Mr. India (1987), Bandit Queen (1994), Elizabeth (1998), and The Four Feathers (2002). He has won two National Film Awards, four Filmfare Awards, and a BAFTA Award.

José Luis Alcaine (Cinematographer) – José Luis Alcaine was the first cinematographer to use a fluorescent tube as key lighting in the 1970s. Worked on films such as Belle Époque (Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film, 1993), Two Much (1995),
Blast from the Past (1999), and The Skin I Live In (2011). Multi-award winner José Luis is known for his collaborations with Pedro Almodóvar.

Jerome Paillard (Film Producer & Ex-head of Film Market) – After successively working as a classical musician, artistic director, and CFO for a classical record label, Paillard produced alongside Daniel Toscan du Plantier at Erato Films over a dozen feature films by such famous directors as Satyajit Ray.

Catherine Dussart is a renowned film producer who has co-produced nearly 100 films across 15 different countries. She is best known for her work on Huahua shijie linghun ke (2017), The Missing Picture (2013), and Exil (2016). Catherine Dussart is also serving as a consultant for the Doha Film Institute.

Helen Leake is a highly regarded film producer in Australia. She has produced several notable feature films, including Carnifex which starred Alexandra Park, Sisi Stringer, and Harry Greenwood, Swereve with Jason Clarke, Wolf Creek 2, Heaven’s Burning featuring Russell Crowe, and Black and white.

They will judge the International Competition and Best Debut Feature Film of a Director Award at the Festival.

The ‘International Competition’ presents 15 acclaimed feature films that represent emerging trends in film aesthetics and politics, showcasing both established and emerging voices across important genres.

The winner of the Best Film Award, which includes the Golden Peacock, Rs 40 lakh monetary prize, and certificates for the Director and Producer, will be selected by an international jury.

Apart from the Best Film, the jury will also give verdicts on the winners in the Best Director, Best Actor (Male), Best Actor (Female), and Special Jury Prize categories.

Copyright © 2023 DD India. All rights reserved

Visitors: 226748

Last updated on: 1st December 2023