Monday, March 04, 2024


October 8, 2023 12:01 PM IST

Indian Air Force to unveil new ensign on 91st anniversary

Indian Forces | IAF | Ashoka lion | IAF New Ensign | Satyamev Jayate

Indian Air Force (IAF) chief Air Chief Marshal VR Chaudhari will unveil the air force’s new ensign at the 91st IAF Day celebrations at Prayagraj on October 8. It will be a momentous day in the annals of IAF history.

A new lAF ensign has now been created to better reflect the values of the Indian Air Force. This reaffirmation will now be reflected by the inclusion of the Air Force Crest in the top right corner of the Ensign, towards the fly side.

Going back in history, the RIAF Ensign comprised of the Union Jack in the upper left canton and the RIAF roundel (Red, White & Blue) on the fly side. Post-Independence, the Indian Air Force ensign was created by replacing the Union Jack with the Indian tri colour and the RAF roundels with the IAF tri colour roundel in the lower right canton.

The IAF Crest cinsists of national symbol, the Ashoka lion on the top with the words “Satyamev Jayate” in Devanagari below it. Below the Ashoka lion is a Himalayan eagle with its wings spread, denoting the fighting qualities of the IAF. A ring in light blue colour encircles the Himalayan eagle with the words “Bhartiya Vayu Sena”. The motto of the IAF “Nabha Sprasham Deeptam” is inscribed below Himalayan eagle in golden Devanagari.

The IAF motto has been taken from verse 24, Chapter 11 of the Bhagavad Gita and means “Radiant Thou Touchest Heaven” or in other words “Touching the sky with Glory”.

Copyright © 2024 DD India. All rights reserved

Visitors: 546027

Last updated on: 3rd March 2024