Sunday, June 16, 2024

DD International

India 2023 World Cup Squad Announced 2023: Rahul in; Tilak, Samson and Prasidh left out

September 5, 2023 4:10 PM IST

indian team | kl rahul | rahul dravid | bcci | bumrah | rohit sharma | india world cup squad | india 2023 wc squad | ashwin | prasidh krishna | tilak varma | samson | ishan kishan

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has officially announced India’s squad for the 2023 World Cup. This 15-member team will be led by Rohit Sharma, with Hardik Pandya serving as his deputy.

India picked seven batters, four bowlers and four all-rounders for the much-anticipated ODI World Cup. Two wicket-keeper-batsmen, KL Rahul and Ishan Kishan have been named in India’s final squad.

In perhaps the biggest news, KL Rahul has made it into the squad despite injury scares. He has been diligently training at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru and has successfully passed his fitness tests. Rahul is now on his way to Sri Lanka to join his Indian teammates in preparation for their Super 4 match against Pakistan in the Asia Cup.

Unfortunately, Sanju Samson, who is currently in Sri Lanka as a reserve for the Asia Cup, has missed out on the World Cup squad, along with Tilak Varma and Prasidh Krishna.

Skipper Rohit Sharma leads the batting group, with Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer and Suryakumar Yadav all named, as well as Ishan Kishan who provides another keeping option. All-rounders Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel and Shardul Thakur have also been named in an emphasis on batting options.

After showing no signs of injury upon his return, Jasprit Bumrah spearheads the bowling attack, with Mohammed Shami and Mohammed Siraj likely the first-choice pace group. Kuldeep Yadav is the side’s leading spin option.

Teams have until 28th September to make any changes to the squad, and any alterations after that date will require approval from the ICC.

India’s 15-member squad for World Cup:

Rohit Sharma (captain), Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Axar Patel, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav.

Copyright © 2024 DD India. All rights reserved

Visitors: 1231091

Last updated on: 16th June 2024