Wednesday, April 17, 2024


Global Parliamentary Leaders arrive in India for 9th P20 Summit

October 12, 2023 9:06 AM IST

G20 India | G20 Parliamentary Speakers' Summit | P20 Summit

The ninth G20 Parliamentary Speakers’ Summit, known as the P20 Summit, is just around the corner, and dignitaries from G20 nations and special invitees are arriving in New Delhi. This historic event is being hosted by India as it holds the G20 Presidency, and it will take place from October 13 to 14, 2023, at the newly constructed India International Convention and Expo Center (IICC) in Dwarka, New Delhi.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will inaugurate the summit, which focuses on the theme “Parliaments for One Earth, One Family, One Future,” inspired by the ancient Indian philosophy of Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam (The World is one Family).

Following the groundbreaking declaration made at the New Delhi Leaders’ Summit in September, the P20 Summit will gather Speakers and Heads of legislatures from G20 member countries and guest countries. They will explore how Parliaments can play a vital role in global governance, bringing their unique perspective to address global challenges and finding solutions. It’s noteworthy that the President of the Pan African Parliament is attending this G20 event in India for the first time, following the African Union’s inclusion as a permanent member of the G20 at the New Delhi Leaders’ Summit.

Dignitaries have already started arriving in New Delhi for this important summit. Dr. Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, the Speaker of the Parliament of Bangladesh, arrived on October 10 and received a warm Indian welcome. The Australian delegation, represented by Senator Sue Lines, President of the Senate of Australia, and Milton Dick, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Australia, arrived on October 7 and were warmly received by Dr. Harsh Vardhan, MP. It’s a momentous gathering aimed at strengthening global cooperation and governance.

Some of the other among the 200-plus parliamentarians and leaders who have confirmed participation at the summit include:

– Lindsay Hoyle, Speaker of House of Commons, United Kingdom
– Tajudeen Abbas, Speaker of the National Assembly of Nigeria
– Ana Lilia Rivera Rivera, Speaker, Senate, Mexico
– Kim Jin Pyo, Speaker, National Assembly, Republic of Korea
– Saqr Ghobash, Speaker of the Federal National Council, UAE
– Sooroojdev Phokeer, Speaker of National Assembly, Mauritius
– Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula, Speaker of the National Assembly, South Africa
– Puan Tjahjani Dwirini Maharani, Speaker of House of Representatives of the Republic of Indonesia
– Wei He, Deputy Speaker, China
– Hiroyuki Nagahama, Deputy Speaker, House of Councillors, Japan
– Dr. Abdullah Alsheikh, Speaker President, Shura Council, Saudi Arabia

The ninth edition will be preceded by a Parliamentary Forum on LiFE (Lifestyle for Sustainable Development) on October 12, 2023, while the Summit itself would have four high-level sessions. The four themes on which parliamentarians would deliberate are (i) Agenda 2030 for SDGs: Showcasing Achievements, Accelerating Progress; (ii) Sustainable Energy Transitions: Gateways to a Green Future; (iii) Mainstreaming Gender Equality: From Women’s Empowerment to Women-Led Development; and (iv) Transformation in Peoples’ Lives through Public Digital Platforms.

Under the theme “Parliaments for One Earth, One Family, One Future,” the summit aims to not only address global challenges but also serve as a platform for enhancing international cooperation, cultural interactions, and diplomatic relations among participating nations. The summit’s discussions will lead to the crafting of a Joint Statement, calling on G20 Governments to work together to address major global issues with a focus on fairness, inclusivity, and peace.

Copyright © 2024 DD India. All rights reserved

Visitors: 755715

Last updated on: 17th April 2024