Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Top Stories

Election Commission fully prepared for Phase-6 of Lok Sabha elections

May 24, 2024 5:23 PM IST

ECI | Lok Sabha Election 2024 | General Election 2024

The Election Commission is fully prepared for the sixth phase of the Lok Sabha elections, which will begin tomorrow. This phase will see polling in 58 Parliamentary Constituencies across eight States and Union Territories, including Haryana and the National Capital Territory of Delhi. Other states participating in this phase include Bihar, Jharkhand, Jammu and Kashmir, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal. Simultaneously, voters in Odisha will also cast their ballots for 42 Assembly Constituencies.

State officials have been instructed to ensure polling stations are well-equipped to handle hot weather or rain. Voters will find facilities like shade, drinking water, ramps, toilets, and other amenities at polling stations. Polling parties have already been dispatched with all necessary equipment to their designated locations.

The Commission has urged voters to participate in large numbers and exercise their right to vote. Special reminders have been issued to voters in urban areas like Delhi, Gurgaon, and Faridabad to overcome the trend of low voter turnout.

The final phase of polling, Phase-7, will take place on June 1 for the remaining 57 PCs, with the counting of votes scheduled for June 4. The first five phases of the General Elections have been conducted smoothly across 25 States/UTs and 428 PCs.

Polling for Phase-6 of the General Elections 2024 will be held on May 25, 2024, for 58 Parliamentary Constituencies (49 General, 2 ST, 7 SC) in eight States/UTs, starting at 7 AM. Voting will also occur for 42 Assembly Constituencies (31 General, 5 ST, 6 SC) in Odisha. Around 11.4 lakh polling officials will assist over 11.13 crore voters across 1.14 lakh polling stations. The voter demographic includes 5.84 crore males, 5.29 crore females, and 5120 third-gender individuals.

Aged voters and those with disabilities (PwD) have the option to vote from home, a service that has been well-received. To ensure security, 20 special trains have been deployed to transport security personnel. A total of 184 observers, including 66 General Observers, 35 Police Observers, and 83 Expenditure Observers, are on the ground to ensure a fair process. More than 5,900 surveillance teams are actively monitoring the elections to prevent voter inducement and ensure compliance.

Strict checks are in place at 257 international and 927 inter-state border posts to prevent illegal activities. Assured Minimum Facilities at polling stations include water, shade, toilets, ramps, volunteers, wheelchairs, and electricity to assist all voters, especially the elderly and disabled. Voter Information Slips have been distributed to all registered voters as a reminder and invitation to vote. Voters can find their polling station details and poll date online. Alternative identification documents are accepted for those who do not have a Voter ID card.

By Manish Poswal

Copyright © 2024 DD India. All rights reserved

Visitors: 1254003

Last updated on: 19th June 2024